Copyright © Beach Holidays in France. All rights reserved.

 


A sincere and HUGE thank you to all our guests who have taken the time to write to us about their holiday experience in our home.  As you can imagine we are just thrilled again to receive so many wonderful comments and it really does make it worth getting up every morning....!!!


​​​Guest Reviews​


The best home for families! - We (my husband, our son, my parents and I) had a fantastic stay at this wonderful holiday home. Donna (the owner) was very friendly and had already answered our questions quickly during our booking process. Immediately after our reservation we received a PDF file from you, in which we received many interesting information about the house and about France and the surrounding area. When we arrived we could get the key with the "Lock Box" and go straight into the house. This was very convenient for us since we did not have to hold on to a certain time. The house was really very clean and tidy. We felt very comfortable. Behind the house a small private playground was built for him and his name was on a blackboard. This was really very sweet! The beds were very well decorated with the towels folded to swans. You felt almost like in a hotel. The equipment of the apartment was absolutely brilliant! Here you really felt that the owners have made a lot of thoughts here and do not operate apartments since yesterday. It was just everything you could imagine! The kitchen is very well equipped (we have cooked several times) and we have the same for example. a few drinks and coffee etc and do not have to buy everything. But not only the kitchen is super equipped. From the games consoles, the DVDs, several books, cuddly blankets and a small mini-equipment, ... in the Wohnberreich over shower gel & shampoo, baby oil, potty, footsteps ... in the bathroom to the fantastically furnished children's rooms with several toys, Costumes, baby phone, baby cot, buggy and much more ... Our little one could not see enough and has discovered a new toy every day. We had actually even toys themselves but that was then uninteresting with so much new :-) We really enjoyed it very much in Angles and "La Pergola"! We will definitely be back!
Mrs F from Germany – September 2017

 
Perfect for families with young children – We stayed at La Pergola this August for two weeks and had the best holiday ever with our 3 young kids (aged 10, 6 and 2) EVERYTHING and I mean everything had been thought of in the way of equipment and entertainment for the kids and adults alike. First class service and fabulous facilities from all the team, we will certainly be going back to La Pergola. Thanks for a wonderful holiday from us all.
Mrs C from Surrey – August 2017


Family comfort and fun - What a lovely and easy holiday we've just had at La Pergola - We've just returned from this spectacular gite, in the best, most family-friendly area. The location is suburb, the facilities excellent, and the experience made for an incredible stress-free holiday. A 'home from home' experience in a stunning part of France. We'd highly recommend this company to anyone with a young family after this wonderful holiday and intend on using them again!
Mrs H from Isle of Man - July 2017


We had a wonderful weeks stay at Pergola - It's perfect for families as it has such a safe environment. We had family who stayed in Le Palmier which was great as the children could safely go between houses without us having to worry. The team managed to finish their clean earlier than the check in time of 5pm which was brilliant so we could get in earlier. We arrived to a lovely welcome and even the train set was laid out and ready to go. Our one year and three year old loved all the toys there was to offer and it was great to have all the baby equipment to use. A visit to the market in Angles is a must and Tranche-sur-Mer has a great beach less than 10 mins away. Definitely recommend for families!

Mrs B from London - July 2017


 Thank you for a gorgeous holiday! What a lovely and easy family holiday we have had at La Pergola. The locations is superb, the facilities are excellent and the whole experience made for an incredible stress-free holiday.  We would recommend La Pergola to anyone wishing for a 'home from home' holiday experience in a stunning area of France - We will be back! 

Mrs P from Hampshire - July 2017


The first impression when we walked through the door was 'WOW' this is just beautiful.  The decor of La Pergola was exactly what we had hoped for from the description and photos listed on the website - it certainly did not disappoint! The arrivals welcome pack we received was fabulous, very detailed and helped us get ready.  The call from Donna (the owner) the week before our arrival was amazing, she went through all our requirements. Honestly, we have never received this type of personal service from any other holiday company – brilliant! The team looking after us were also great and had laid out some wonderful toys etc. just for our kids, they were thrilled and very excited when they saw everything just waiting for them. Although there was so much to do in the area, we just chilled by the pool most days and enjoyed our family time. This really has been one of our most memorable holidays – we cannot fault this home or the company in any way. This is definitely a great find and we will be returning - thank you for everything and for making our stay so enjoyable. 

Mr and Mrs S from Warwickshire - June 2017


Fantastic holiday & home - especially with our 2 & 4 year olds in tow - We loved every bit of our 3 week holiday at La Pergola. The house was perfectly laid out, very clean and extremely well-equipped. We literally had everything we needed and more: Stair gates installed on top & bottom; private gated garden with play area; loads of toys upstairs & down; secure locks on the pool... we could actually relax and let our 2 & 4 year old play without worrying they would get hurt or escape! The location was fantastic, as well. Every morning we made the short walk into Angles to visit the boulangerie, have a coffee, and then spend time in the playground. There was also a pharmacy, restaurants, a cave, and a shop; all within a very short walk. And a larger supermarket was just a short drive away. The beach was an easy drive, as were the local amusements (chateau, bee farm, aquarium), making excursions incredibly easy. The Wednesday fresh markets were excellent (would have gone every day!) - full of fresh fruit, veg, meat & cheese. I highly recommend staying with Donna and Jay. They (and their kind and helpful staff) were excellent hosts and made sure we had everything we needed. It was a true home away from home. We would 100% go back, and soon!

Thanks Donna and Jay!

Mr and Mrs H from Canterbury - June 2017


Exceeded our expectations! - My wife and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary but only had a narrow window of time so we wanted it to be extra special. We travel from the states to Europe on a frequent basis but usually to the larger cities. We saw the description of La Pergola, located in Angles, France and thought we'd give it a shot. We are super glad we did! Do not let the "barn conversion" label fool you. This is a first class home that is well-equipped (especially the kitchen), has extra comfy beds (great for naps after polishing off a bottle of wine) and is in a small, quaint village. We loved walking from the home and buying pastries from the local patisserie (or two). We took a short drive to the several open markets in the surrounding villages and tried several restaurants - all amazing. We were here by ourselves and will come back with our friends, however, the home and setting is perfect for families. Talk about an amazing beach vacation to do with your kids (or, in our case, grand kids....someday)!!! As good as the location and home were the service and hospitality was even better! Donna and Jay were professional, proactive and thoughtful hosts. We enjoyed getting to know them and hope to see them again when they travel here. The worst part of the vacation was having to leave. But we'll remedy that with a return trip soon!!!

Mr and Mr B from Montana USA - May 2017


Personal touches upon arrival - excellent

Cleanliness of La Pergola - excellent

Comfort of beds - excellent

kids toys/games equipment supplied- excellent

Attention to detail from the housekeepers - excellent

Friendliness of staff - excellent

Would recommend

The house was as described

Overall holiday experience at La Pergola - yep you've guessed it.....EXCELLENT! 

Mrs B from London - May 2017


La Pergola had everything we needed and to a very high standard. The welcome was lovely too. The village was friendly, with good facilities, bakers, bar, restaurant, tourist info and a market each week. All you needed.  Excellent holiday with excellent personal touches from an excellent team.

​Mrs L from Hove - May 2017


Amazing stay at la Vendée! - We have spent our easter holiday in this absolutely amazing and wonderful holiday home of Donna and Jay. What a pleasure! The house is decorated with so much taste. Lots of space and best of all: plenty of toys. It was difficult to take our kids out sightseeing, as they wanted to stay 'home'! Apart from the house, the region is well worth going too. We made some great day trips. Definitely worth going is Ile de Ré and rent some bikes. We also went to Puy du Fou, an attraction park unlike other attraction parks. We saw so many magnificent shows there, with knights, romains, vikings. Really impressive. We absolutely recommend this holiday as it truly is a holiday. You just relax and enjoy!

Mrs L from France - April 2017


Fantastic kid-friendly + mum/dad--friendly holiday home in lovely Angles, France - Looking back over the year, the time my family spent at La Pergola stands out as one of our fondest memories of 2016! From our initial communication with the team to the day of our departure and the follow-up afterward, the process was smooth and enjoyable. The welcome on our arrival was top notch with a lovely bottle of wine and personal touches that clearly showed us that every family member matters – kids and adults alike. La Pergola’s thoughtful design is so spot-on that a family can literally show up and count on finding all the things needed for an amazing holiday: toys and safe play spaces inside and outside for the kids that allow for independent play while the adults can enjoy visiting together without distraction or worry. The big outdoor chalkboard is brilliant!! The house itself is beautiful, clean, comfortable, relaxing and fun. The website gives the details of space and features, which are all described accurately. A few highlights worth mentioning: a fantastic collection of books, a kitchen with everything we could ever imagine needing for a low-hassle, self-catering holiday, comfortable beds, Jacuzzi tubs and a private garden area with a barbecue and dining area. Shared with two other houses are a “cool” (heated) pool and a hot spa and sauna. Angles is a walkable village with restaurants and a boulangerie (a real hit with our crew!) This was our first time visiting the west coast of France. It was busy and fun and we loved hanging out in the “home away from home” each evening. We’ll definitely return again!

Mr G from New York - October 2016


Lovely Place, Lovely People and a Great Location - La Pergola is one of three units sharing a common heated pool, and it's a fantastic place to stay. It has a well-equipped beautiful kitchen, warm decor, authentic stone French country-house construction and crisp, clean linens in the kitchen, bedrooms and bath. The staff is great -- it was clear from day one that a comfortable, enjoyable stay was their #1 priority. The weather was great, even though it was late in the season. This unit is quiet; you can't tell from the inside that you're just a block's walk from the city-center of Angles, where there's a market twice weekly, bank/ATM, boucherie/charcuterie, boulangerie, a tourist office with English-speaking staff, and other shops. A full supermarket (Intermarché Contact) is a pleasant, easy 1.2 km walk away. We made an outing to Les Sables d'Olonne to see the start of the Vendée Globe sailing race and had a wonderful time. Allez Alex!

Mr and Mrs B from Florida - October 2016


A wonderful holiday home in a lovely area of France - We stayed at La Pergola in September. We were welcomed with a beautiful bouquet of yellow roses and a bottle of wine. The attention to detail was outstanding! Every room was beautifully decorated and furnished. The children's rooms were amazing! Toys and books and games to keep any child occupied for hours. We didn't have children with us but I wish I could have shown it to my grandchildren..they would have loved it! Our bed was very comfy and the furnishings and decor in every room was lovely. It was really nice to have a pool and hot tub and lots of lounging room outside. They made sure everything was working well for us and had tons of information on things to do and see in the local area. We couldn't have wished for a better place to enjoy this area of France!

Mrs J from Courtenay - September 2016


La Pergola lived up to and probably exceeded the expectations of all of us, from grandparents down to grandkids. Had a lovely stay at La Pergola, the property was excellent and very clean with some nice touches (the personalised welcomes and kids toys selections was great!) Good size pool and pool area with very nice outside dining/BBQ space. We liked the fact that this was separate from the communal pool area. Lots to do in the surrounding area – water parks, theme parks etc. and very good beaches at Les Conches and La Tranche sur Mer. Angles is a lovely village with lots of the amenities required. We all enjoyed enormously our stay in La Pergola - I am sure the pleasant memories will stay with our grandkids for a long time and will be recalled when deciding on future holidays.
Mr H from London – September 2016

 

I just wanted to say thank you so much for such a wonderful week at La Pergola. We've had the most amazing holiday and are very sad to be leaving. The gite is so fantastically well equipped - you really have thought of everything - and the children were spoilt for choice with all the toys to play with. It's fantastic to have such incredible beaches nearby and we loved being able to walk the Boulangerie each morning to get breakfast. We all agreed it was our best holiday yet and I really hope to come back again really soon!
Mrs J from Ipswich – August 2016


We really did enjoy our stay at La Pergola. The folder & book were very helpful. The house was lovely and everything we could have wanted. Everything went very well, so we don’t believe any improvements can be made!  Excellent family holiday. Best of luck to all of you with your business.
Mrs C from London – August 2016

Had a lovely stay at La Pergola, the property was excellent and very clean with some nice touches (the personalised welcomes and kids toys selections was great!)  Good size pool and pool area with very nice outside dinning/BBQ space. We liked the fact that this was separate from the communal pool area. Lots to do in the surrounding area – water parks, theme parks etc. and very good beaches at Les Conches and La Tranche sur Mer. Angles is a lovely village with lots of the amenities required. We all enjoyed enormously our stay in La Pergola - I am sure the pleasant memories will stay with our grandkids for a long time and will be recalled when deciding on future holidays.
Mr H from London – August 2016


A truly wonderful stay at Pergola this July, helped very much by all the wonderful toys and games laid out for the kids. Great to finally find a holiday home that actually supplies all (and more!) what it advertises.  Pergola was a real home from home, very comfortable beds, charming character, thoughtfully kitted out and somewhere we will def be coming back to and recommending to our family and friends.  Loved the pool, kids had a blast. Thanks again and see you all next year.
Mrs T from Surrey – July 2016

Web-site information – Excellent
The sales team – Excellent
Booking process – Excellent
Travel Pack received – Excellent
Impression when we walked through the door – Excellent
Children’s toys/equipment supplied – Excellent
Information supplied at property – Excellent
Overall holiday experience – Excellent :) :) :)
Mrs R from Brighton – June 2016


We stayed at the end of May early June in this wonderful property. We were two families with 4 young children aged between 8 months and 4 years. The booking process was easy, the team kept us updated each step of the way with clear instructions on payments etc. and info on which property would fit our needs best. When we opened the front door the girls went crazy, the team had laid out the princess dresses ready for them to jump into straight away, wonderful touch which really made us all smile, the girls were in holiday mode and never really looked back after that. The property is perfectly designed for young families, all the things you'd drag from home have been accounted for. The house is well equipped for home cooking with everything you'd expect to find in your own kitchen. The adults were greeted with a lovely bottle wine and a hand written note, lovely touch. The pool and pool area is perfect, the kids could just about stand up (4yr old) and although it wasn't very warm you could always jump in the Jacuzzi for a heat up. The location of the property is great, lovely quite little area with a 5-10-minute walk into town where there is a butchers, baker and a couple of very friendly restaurants. Despite the bad weather we still had a great time.
Mr F from London – May 2016


September in this area is just fantastic. Great sunny days, fabulous beaches, warm pool, perfect holiday home and 1st class service from the Pergola team. 
Mrs J from Lincoln - September 2015
  

La Pergola is a lovely home and had everything we could have wished for with a young family with kids.  The villa assistants were very helpful and friendly and we would certainly recommend this home to others. Thanks for an enjoyable stay. 
Mr & Mrs P from London - August 2015

Pre-booking and info supplied were excellent by the owner and on arrival lots of thought gone into what was available (i.e. dishwasher tabs which can be so annoying when you have to go out to buy) Also everyone knew the names of the kids and had left toys out for them for their arrival – really thoughtful touches and they loved the treasure hunt organised by the villa assistants.  The villa assistants were very lovely and kind – really good ambassadors for your company. Overall an excellent holiday with lots of toys and play equipment supplied and great staff.
Mr M from Sussex – August 2015


First class service and accommodation at La Pergola. Excellent level of attention from all staff, cleanliness of the house, and helpfulness of the villa assistants.  Child safety is fantastic; we could let the kids play outside with no worries of any danger at all. 
Overall great holiday, thank you. 
Mr and Mrs H Brighton - July 2015

There was more equipment than we were expecting including bibs, herbs and spices, oil etc.  Much more like a house swap than a holiday rental. Very thoughtful provisions of information. When our children were sick, it took us less than 5 seconds to locate the information on the local doctor. All the information about the local area was more detailed and reflected personality – definitely a cut above the usual.  We loved the privacy at La Pergola, having a garden away from the communal pool gave us the best of both worlds. The service exceeded our expectations – the charm of the villa assistants, all the thoughtful touches, the daily cleans and the pool maintenance. Overall excellent holiday, with the property exactly as described. 
​Mrs M from London - July 2015​


A great set up for anyone travelling with preschool kids! Everything thought of and Mum & Dad actually had a holiday. Two couples and 3 toddlers could have meant the end to any time off on our trip to France but the owner of this barn conversation had thought of everything. Safety/entertainment and all the bits and pieces that usually mean I have no room for a hairdryer were on site in the house. We had a great holiday and nothing was a disappointment - from the location to the accommodation to the places we visited! The Zoo was our best day. But at night sitting out having a drink when the wee ones were upstairs with the stair gate closed was my fav part!!! Would go back in a heartbeat!!!
Mrs C from Ireland - July 2015

La Pergola and its sister properties are fantastic locations for a relaxing holiday with small children. The attention to detail is amazing - you will have pretty much everything you could have at home - and really conveys the sense that the owners have thought of everything that hard-worked parents need to have an enjoyable holiday. Happy kids = happy grown-ups. The interior of La Pergola is gorgeous and the house has everything you need. Outside, on one side you have a terrific family pool and on the other, a barbecue and dining area and - best of all - a play zone with outdoor toys and a chalkboard. Everything is as easy and stress-free as a self-catering location in rural France could possibly be. Nearby, there are beaches, lively seaside towns, adventure parks and a zoo, castles and museums ... 
The website itself will tell you the rest. We had a brilliant family holiday.
Mr C from Scotland - June 2015


Having come last year, we were looking forward to returning. We were not disappointed!!  We had a thorough good time at La Pergola. The village, amenities, property and sales people were amazing.  The children have also had a great time and didn't once ask for their own toys they had brought along and found the toys made available to us very enjoyable especially the princess dresses - we had many a night being entertained by them dancing and singing in them!  The pool was superb and can honestly say we have found no fault however small to be found on our holiday.  IF feel the concept you have here is brilliant and will not hesitate to return back for future holidays.  I feel honestly that you have catered for everything and cannot make one suggestion that would improve on the A* service that you currently offer. We have had an amazing time and looking forward to returning again
Mr & Mrs S from Rotherham - June 2015

​A brilliant holiday experience. Everything for the family and small children was thought of and provided in the house even the small details like baby toiletries and toddler cutlery, it really took the hassle out of travelling for us. There were great toys, slides and activities for the children in the garden which meant all the adults could enjoy the outdoor areas, BBQ and pool too. Convenient location for travel to the beach and activities. Staff were excellent too, very enjoyable experience
Mr and Mrs G from Scotland - June 2015

​If you are looking to relax on holidays it's important the under 5 year olds in your family are catered for! I can honestly say this was my first holiday since having our two girls (age 2 and 4) that I really switched off. And that was because the house was fully kitted out for toddlers, from health and safety to entertainment to practical things it was just all there! The area had loads of top quality attractions for wee ones too....the zoo was a winner and the pirate chateau. Loved it all
Mrs C from Guernsey - May 2015​

 

The equipment for young children was excellent and having villa assistants nearby for any questions we had was a great selling point as they were very knowledgeable about the area. Also being in a village location with local shops really made the holiday (fresh croissants every morning :) Having a pool is a must for us particularly with 3 children and also proximity to the beach.  Mrs D from London - September 2014

We rated the following aspects of our holiday as ‘Excellent’ Web-site information, Sales team service, The booking process, Information received prior to our arrival, Personal call from the owner prior to arrival, Cleanliness of La Pergola, Attention to details from the housekeepers, Maintenance support team, Cleanliness of the swimming pool,
​  Yes you’ve guessed it – our overall holiday experience at La Pergola was EXCELLENT!

Mrs A from West Yorkshire - August 2014


La Pergola is a great size property with lots of space inside and out so we could spread ourselves about. The swimming pool was kept clean and is a great size too.  The booking process was slick however the 2% credit card charge is a pain. The village had everything required with the boulongerie next to the Italian restaurant being our favourite.   We had an excellent holiday at La Pergola and found the attention to detail from the house keepers and the information supplied at the property excellent. Overall we rated our holiday on the feedback form as Excellent

Mrs D from Surrey - August 2014


The booking process was very straight forward and no hassle.  The cottage was very well presented, clean and hand lots of toys.  The kids were exploring and playing with the toys as soon as we got through the door. The whole place was very child-friendly and well thought out. The village is pretty, convenient and very close.  The beaches are fantastic and only a very short drive away.  La Terriere and Les Conches were our favourite.  We rated the following elements of our stay as 'excellent' - Cleanliness of the property, children's toys and equipment supplied, personal pre arrival call from the owner and the sales team service. Overall a very relaxing holiday and a received an excellent service. It was clear that the team were around and contactable should we have needed anything - thank you."
Mrs G from Ireland - July 2014


Staff very friendly and pleasant. Quick response to phone calls.  Lovely locations, with good village amenities. 

Mr H from Leeds - July 2014


Secure garden is excellent for those with children. The property is well laid out and we loved the atmosphere. The property is very clean and well kept.  The beaches were excellent ‘large waves’ and the village was a great place to visit.  A very good choice of bistro’s, bars and restaurants. The people of the village were superb and very welcoming. The staff at Le Pergola were always helpful and friendly.  We would love to come back and explore the beautiful area more.
Mr B from H from Surrey - July 2014


Overall excellent property, facilities for families with children also excellent. Our villa assistants were superb, so efficient and full of helpful information on the area.
Mr and Mrs H from Sheffield - June 2014 
 

"Excellent service from our villa assistants – the ‘Dream Team’ nothing was a problem for them and they responded to our needs quickly and efficiently. Excellent selection of books (for both children and adults) and dvd’s.  Also lots of choice of entertainment with the Wii, Sky TV, dvd player and X-box – much more than we expected. Excellently equipped kitchen, everything we needed and more and beautiful garden and terrace area. Lovely showers and baths, there was always hot water.  The mattress in the travel cot was BRILLIANT!! We have never got such good ones anywhere else so thank you. The web-site information, sales team service and booking process we rated at excellent.  The information received in readiness for our holiday as well as the personal call from the owner welcoming us was also excellent. The cleanliness of the property and attention to details we also rated as excellent and the property was as described.

Our overall holiday experience at La Pergola was excellent so thanks – you rock!"
MR M from Ireland - June 2014
"Mid stay cleaning was very helpful which allowed us to get out and enjoy the holiday. The aquarium in La Rochelle went down a treat and we enjoyed many local beaches. Emma and Luke were welcoming and we felt we had help on hand if we needed it"
MR P from Surrey - June 2014

"We had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday at La Pergola. Excellent sales team, attention to detail from the cleaning and maintenance team. Thank you."

Mr and Mrs D from Birmingham - August 2013


"The information received, from the owner, prior to arrival was excellent. La Pergola is really well laid out and presented well. The kitchen utensils were very good. The pool was excellent and the children happily stayed in for 2-3hours at a time which as important. The support team were excellent, they were very friendly and helpful. The house was immaculately cleaned twice a week and they really made a big impact. A great holiday experience, thank you." Mr and Mrs S from Alton - August 2013


"La Pergola is very nice. The arrival meal was great as were the couple cleaning for us. The children's toys and equipment were very welcome and impressive. Very efficient service from all those that I dealt with at your company - Merci!" 

Mrs F from Suffolk - July 2013


"We had a wonderful week at La Pergola. The gite was exceptionally clean and very well kitted out - kids toys and kitchen equipment was also excellent." Mr S from Winchester - July 2013


"Overall a great stay at La Pergola. Property very nice and good layout for families sharing. Pool and outdoor furniture brilliant, toys and DVD's etc. great to have and kept our little one very entertained. Lovely to be able to walk to the little play park and bakers. Very easy booking process and pre-travel guide very helpful. Lovely gite, well equipped."

Mrs C from Banbury - June 2013


"Really good all round holiday at La Pergola, facilities excellent, house keeping very friendly. Great attention to detail." Mr G from St Albans - May 2013


Guest book from previous years


"My husband and I, and our two girls, now aged 3 and 5, holidayed in La Pergola this summer and last. We had two fantastic family holidays, joined the second time by the grandparents, who also had a wonderful time. Angles is a delightful village with lots of places to potter to in a matter of minutes; plenty of local shops, bars and also the summer markets, which kept us all happily occupied. The sea is only a short drive away, and the beaches at La Terriere are beautiful-vast, unspoilt, yet manned by lifeguards with a beach bar serving delicious food (only in France could such good food be served in such basic surroundings!). There is a lot to do in the surrounding area (great beaches, watersports, sightseeing, adventure parks) and there was a great folder of information on places to see provided by the gite's owners which was very helpful.


La Pergola itself is a fantastically furnished gite- it is beautifully decorated and stacked out with everything you might need, from baby equipment to great children's dressing up gear, books and videos (for young and old!), magazines, the Wii...
I spent a lot of time researching this holiday on the net and this place really stood out and the reality did not disappoint. There was also plenty of space, even when the grandparents were with us, as effectively there are two "zones", with two bedrooms and a bathroom upstairs and a further two bedrooms plus bathrooms downstairs, so we all still felt that we had our space to chill in. The pool is also gated and locked meaning that the children could be outside playing safely.
The staff looking after the gite were great- very responsive. I called out the maintenance team before 8am one morning and they arrived in under an hour, which I found impressive.


Everything from the location, the weather, the gite, the pool, the staff - all added up to a perfect holiday. I have recommended this to my friends!"


"Just wanted to drop you a line to say how much we enjoyed our holiday in your gite. The standard of accommodation was far above the "norm" for the Vendee and as you said on your website you have thought of everything.  May I also comment on Danny who was always friendly and polite and when we required more bedding when we arrived there was no problem at all with him getting it to us. As the face to your company he really is excellent."


"We stayed at La Pergola in early September with 2 small children and 4 grown up friends. We stayed in the downstairs room and our friends had the upstairs accommodation. From booking we experienced a personal service with all communication. About a week after booking we received the ferry discount code which worked fine for both cars. We received an email about a week before we were due to leave for our holiday with detailed information about things we needed to do, before, during and at the end of our stay. This was followed up with a phone call to check we were happy with everything and that answered the couple of extra queries that i had about our journey. I've never had service like this before - outstanding.


We found the house and keys easily. The accommodation was brilliant, clean and stocked with handy extra's we've not had when staying in self-catering accommodation - hand wash for example. The towels and bedding were of a high quality too. There was a train track built on the floor of the children's bedroom which was great after the long drive, something to play with immediately and lots of other toys. The TV set up was brilliant, there's a wii we took our 2 remotes and 4 of us could play at once. There were books and magazines about too. The kitchen was well equipped for the few nights we cooked in and there was space to eat. The washing machine was essential with the children. The pool was very secure there was no way children could get in without an adult. It was so warm in September and I think we went in everyday and not just for a few minutes. The roman steps were great for our 3 and 1 year old to play on. The only problem with the accommodation was the lack of stair-gate at the bottom of the stairs but we managed to contain our smallest traveller and I'm not sure how it could be gated.


The information folder in the gite was very useful and we followed several of their recommendations. The supermarkets were easy to find. We ate at a restaurant on the left just after the church on our first night which was very good and only a short walk from the gite. Then we ate at Le Lapin qui fume in the next village over which was a short 5 minute car ride away, I'd rate the one in the village highest but both were good. We found Jard sur mer and loved the crepe restaurant near the roundabout looking at the windmill. The beach at Jard sur mer great too. We went into La Rochelle handily on the only rainy day and went to the aquarium (which was great) and parking was good. We ate on the harbour but walked around later and wished we'd ventured over into the town to eat.


We experienced one powercut during a storm and the power didn't come back on afterwards we got in touch with the call people and someone came and fixed it within 15 minutes. We didn't have any problems after that.


A great holiday and I would recommend it hence the review!"


"The house was clean and very welcoming. We arrived a little early and the house was still being cleaned but we were able to unpack the suitcases and leave them at the house while we went off to start our holiday on the beach, which is literally only 10 mins by car. Everything has been thought of in the kitchen and it was great not to have to rush off for tea and coffee as a welcome pack was waiting on the kitchen table for us.


The weather was excellent throughout our stay so we made full use of the BBQ and the pool, Although it is a shared pool there was plenty of room for everyone and the layout of the furniture made it also seem as though it was just for us. 


The bedrooms were a lovely size and the bathrooms were of a high standard. Bedding and towels of a very high standard. We needed extra bedding and phoned up the maintenance number who reacted straight way and brought over the extra items. They also helped us work out the video player and told us which beach was the best.


The weekly moules and frites in the village are a definite must it is a lovely atmosphere with all the locals joining in. We will definitely be back"


"Many thanks for the fantastic holiday at your Gite “La Pergola” I’d like to say a special thanks for the individual support you provided in ensuring my husband was able to enjoy his holiday to the full: with the grab handle installation in the house as well as building ramp access to the pool.  It is extremely difficult to find a holiday property which is suitable for full disabled access, small children and a tired Mother in need of rest in beautiful surroundings, but Gites in Angles succeeded!"


"I booked the gite for a week for my 60th birthday party and on arrival was amazed that what you saw was what you got. The pictures described the gite perfectly. There was everything in the gite you could want, from bottle opener to home cine viewing (not that we did a lot of that). Although there were no children in my party, I was really impressed at how much care had gone into catering for the children and how many toys/books were supplied.


The kitchen was FULLY equipped and if I thought "wish I had that" when I looked , it was there. Amazing!!! Will definitely go back, this time with my grandchildren. Children's safety was apparent by the fully fenced pool, so I will be able to let my grandchildren play outside without worry. The property was immaculately clean with a property guide in the lounge for my use, listing numerous restaurant and local places of interest. I would, and have, recommended this gite to friends."


"When we booked your gite (over a year ago!) I thought we had made the right choice, now having been here for one week I know we made the right choice. The village of Angles is so beautiful & just wonderful. The fantastic beaches as described & the house just perfect for two families sharing."


"Had a great holiday at this beautiful gite this summer. A real "home from home" with all the facilities we needed to hand - the kitchen was well equipped and everything very clean. The kids really enjoyed the pool and there were plenty of games, toys and dvds to keep them occupied on days we didn't venture out.


The location is fantastic, near the beach and lots of attractions in the area. We can really recommend a visit to Puy du Fou! Sunshine, swimming and cheap wine - great!"


"Fantastic accommodation and brilliant location for the true french experience. Based in a lovely french town with local shops and a great street market twice a week enables you to soak up the experience. The house was very spacious and all bedrooms large so no-one felt left out. The bathrooms were excellent with jacuzzi baths and very powerful showers.


 The kitchen was very well equipped and the owners had left you wanting for nothing. The team who maintained the house during your stay were very good and nothing was too much trouble for them and only a phone call away. The pool was a very good size and although shard by other families this did not spoil our holiday in the least. I don't want to tell you how good it is because then it would get fully booked and we would not be able to return!!"


"From our initial contact the process of booking was very easy. When we first arrived the children where very happy when they saw the lovely pool....:) We were quite amazed with the size of the Gite, i don't think this really comes across in the pictures. Inside and out was a credit to the owners. What was really helpful as well where all the games and book etc, saved us having to bring them all with us. The location of the Gite was great, it was a short walk to the shops, coffee shops and restaurants. The beach which is close as well was lovely, and there was a great little restaurant on the way to it. I have already recommended the Gite to several friends. I look forward to our return."


"As an independent Lettings Expert working with Tots To Travel, it is my job to visit gites and holiday homes to evaluate their suitability as child friendly holiday destinations. I am so impressed with the location, design and facilities at these properties, they have included everything possible to ensure that children of all ages (and Mums and Dads too) have a wonderful holiday - they really do have it all!"


"What a wonderful week we have had! Friendship, swimming, eating, drinking - (more drinking) and lots of sunshine, what more could we have asked for? The beds were so comfortable and we just loved them, can I take them home with me? Fabulous facilities and a very warm welcome - we had it all."


"We had a great stay, the gite worked well with the five of us (all adults) and the location is just about perfect. Thank you for the efforts you've put into making your gites so inviting, relaxing and comfortable."


"We think the beds were the real bonus, what a fantastic surprise to have comfortable beds. Excellent holiday - thanks for thinking of those extra touches too! Perfect location, excellent facilities a real find."

“Great to have the toys available and not have to pack any. The local information guide was so useful we followed all the recommendations on beaches and restaurants and we weren’t disappointed.” 


“The children have really enjoyed watching the videos in the house. The maintenance team were quick to respond, helpful and very friendly. The village was very close by and La Trattoria was the best restaurant we went to. Central Plage at La Tranche sur Mer was a lovely beach, clean and sandy.” 


“The property is really well equipped and has everything needed for children. The pool is excellent and great that it is fenced off. The maintenance and housekeeping team were always helpful and friendly. The village is in a lovely location and an easy walk from the gite. We visited lots of the local beaches and they were all great. The road to Conches is a treat to drive along, such a scenic route. The Aquarium at La Rochelle and Zoodes Sables were both great."


“All the toys provided are fantastic and our children loved having new things to play with. The pool was lovely and the property has a great layout which worked well for our family. Angles is a fantastic village with so much to offer just on your doorstep. We have loved shopping in the shops, markets and exploring around the local beaches."


"Making the most of some glorious weather in France we stayed in Le Pergola in mid April, we wanted a quiet break that was more than just comfortable, walking distance to local amenities, close to the beach and activities for the kids and we were not disappointed. Le Pergola is a beautiful gite, set in a converted barn building it has been renovated to an excellent standard, everything smacks of good quality (definitely no granny’s old sofas here).


We were welcomed in to an immaculately clean holiday home, a welcome pack to ensure that we could get a brew going as soon as we arrived and masses of information about what we could do during our stay. Huge TV to keep hubby happy with the Grandprix, enjoying his favourite Nesspresso coffee. Jaccuzzi bath, delicious smellies and large fluffy towels for me, followed by a glass of wine in the secluded garden with a good book borrowed from the well-stocked shelves. The girls had hours of fun playing swing ball having spent an afternoon taking a trip down memory lane looking through the huge collection of toys on offer and desperate to fit into the dressing up clothes (complete with clippy cloppy shoes) and become a Disney Princess again. If your kids are under 10 they will have no shortage of things to keep them entertained, there is even the kit to do some cooking with the children and a planting set to do some gardening. I only wish I had found this holiday whilst my kids were still small, we would have then had room in the car for our stuff and not have it filled with all the kit for the small people.


The shared pool is a good size and the deck and surrounding garden well maintained although we were too early in the season to use the pool, it did look very inviting. The very pretty sleepy village is genuinely just a 5 minute gentle stroll from Le Pergola, close enough and safe enough for the girls to wander down and buy fresh croissants for breakfast. We had an excellent meal in one of the local restaurants.


There is so much to do right on your door step that entertaining two teenage girls was a doddle everything from miles and miles of beautiful sandy beaches just a 10 minute drive away (yes even in April we managed some time in shorts and t shirts paddling in the sea), some retail therapy in the little seaside shops, rope climbing in the trees through to the wonderful Aquarium at La Rochelle. All in all a great success and we will definitely be back." 


"The layout of the gite has worked very well and we liked being close to a village with a boulangerie, an excellent butcher and a twice weekly market. We went to Les Sables d’Olonne which we liked and we visited the beaches at Le Rocher which had easy access for the children and an ice cream van (essential!)”


“We enjoyed staying at Pergola!” 


“We enjoyed the house very much. The pool was fantastic, correct temperature and lovely size. The housekeepers were brilliant, very efficient, friendly and helpful. The markets in Angles were very good as were the local shops, butcher, bakery and the pizza restaurant was fantastic. Beach at Le Rocher was great for sand, rock pooling and for letting the dog off the lead.” 


“Booking process, toys, garden, swimming pool, size and layout all great. Villages and beaches close by all great as well. Would definitely consider returning.”